A Short Nightly Devotional

This is the devotional I do at my altar every evening before bed. It’s short (10 minutes, give or take, depending on your preparation level, and how long you want to meditate), and designed to create a state of peace and gratitude at the end of the day. Each phrase starts “global,” by thanking the Being for a wider part they play, and then moves “local,” thanking the Being for helping me in personal ways.

I say “designed,” but a better word would be “evolved”: the words I use have changed and fluctuated a lot over the last years, and they’ve finally settled into something I’m happy enough with to share. Last night I wrote it down, because a friend of mine told me she rarely has time to do daily work at her own altar, and when she does, she has a hard time finding the words to speak.

I mentioned preparations, but not much is required beyond standard ADF Hallows: a well, fire, and tree. My well is always filled, and it sits with my candle-fire and tree on my altar, along with three candles for the three Kindred. Beneath my altar, I have a basket with bags of oats and other dry offerings, a bottle of whiskey, and incense, so offerings are at my fingertips.

The truth? You don’t even need the Hallows. An offering bowl and a bag of oats will do the trick.

So, here you are:

Grey Wren’s Short Nightly Devotional

I come before the Sacred Well, the Sacred Fire, and the Sacred Tree to give thanks for the blessings given me this day. If desired, spend a moment meditating on the Well, Fire, and Tree: a short Two Powers meditation works well here.

I give thanks to the Earth Mother for the support and sustenance she gives me, in this rite as in all things. (Make offering.) Hail Earth Mother.

I give thanks to the Ancestors for making my life possible, and for the guidance and blessings they give me. (Make offering.) Hail Ancestors.

I give thanks to the Nature Spirits for sharing this world with me, and for the guidance and blessings they give me.  (Make offering.) Hail Spirits of Nature.

I give thanks to the Gods and Goddesses for the magic they bring to this world, and for the guidance and blessings they give me. (Make offering.) Hail Shining Ones.

Optional: Repeat this pattern to thank your patrons for their presence and for in your life. For example, I might say:
I give thanks to Brighid for the warmth and inspiration she brings to my home, and for the guidance and blessings she gives me. Hail, Brighid.

Optional: At this point, I draw a tarot card to serve as message for the day to come. I leave it on my altar throughout the next day as a reminder.

I gave thanks to all the Kindred for the presence in my life, and the blessings they have given me.

 

And that’s that.

5 thoughts on “A Short Nightly Devotional

  1. Curious – do you give different offerings to each of the Kindred, or do you have something standard for your devotionals? This is something I’m trying to figure out for myself…

    • I usually use a standard offering — steel cut oats, barley, or whiskey. I do this primarily because it’s both easy and simple.

      HOWEVER, I’m becoming disenchanted with that, and I imagine the Kindred like variety as much as the rest of us. I’d like to move to offerings tailored more specifically to each Kindred: barley for the Ancestors, herbs for the Nature Spirits, whiskey for the Deities. I could certainly keep three separate bags for offerings under my altar as easily as I could one or two.

      • That is exactly how I’m feeling. I’m thinking about checking the antique shop for some old kitchen canisters (the kind you’d usually label coffee, sugar, flour) and have one per Kindred. That would keep my altar area organized and nice looking!

  2. I came to this entry hoping to draw inspiration for making my own simple devotional rite, for which I thank you! But I also need to point out that your link to the tumblr blog for Priestess in training is broken. When I hovered the mouse over the link, it showed up like this: priestessintraining.tumblr.com< http//priestessintraining.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

