Happy Birthday?

Today is my 26th birthday.

This isn’t a huge deal. No big parties or anything, and it’s not like turning 16 or 18 or 21 or 30 or some other big landmark.

But it is a fresh start, of a sort, and I’m glad about that. Twenty-five was not my best year. I made a big career mistake and moved us to a town we dislike, far from our friends and family. We survived a head-on car collision, but we also got engaged the same day. I didn’t get into any PhD programs, but I have a Masters degree, and that’s no small thing. I may have taken a job I hated, but I quit it to do what I love. I got insurance, which a year ago I was told was impossible because of a congenital heart condition. We decided to move back to the town we consider home. I found a new spiritual path that also feels like home.

So some good things happened to balance out the bad.

I’m going to do a special ritual today, one that I probably won’t write about here, to thank the Kindreds for the blessings in my life, to welcome them into another year of my life, and to ask them for their blessings going forward. I feel good. Peaceful. It is a happy birthday.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday?

  1. Blessings to you! Happy Birthday!

    May you be blessed in all that you do this year to come, and may the Kindred show their presence in your life. Always.

    Sincerely,
    Teo

  2. Happy birthday! I turned 25 this year with little pomp and circumstance. I would have liked to do more but we also moved farther away from friends and family. I don’t dislike the job – in fact, I rather like what I do! We just live so far away from everything… Perhaps I will move back one day. It is nice to hear that you did what you felt was right. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

