Omens and Tarot

I’ve been incorporating omens into my devotionals lately, partly because I’ve been wanting to take my spiritual work to the next level, and partly because I have so many beautiful tarot decks that need love. (I’m such a little kid, wanting to play with my toys.)

The short version of this post: how do you take omens during a ritual?

The long version: I had a very successful daily devotional today, one where I felt really connected to the Kindreds. I made some very labor-intensive old-fashioned cookies earlier, and I used cookie pieces for my offering, to what I feel, looking at the omens, was success.

I’ve been using the fairly standard two question, two card (for tarot users) method of drawing omens, asking, “Was my offering acceptable?” and “What blessings are offered me?”

The trouble is, I’m not a big fan of yes/no questions for the tarot. Some people go for a basic, even number means yes, odd means no, or the opposite, or whatever, but I’ve always thought that method is naively over-simplified. With all the rich imagery a card presents, why look only at its number? And anyway, how often is something a simple yes or no, especially in the context of the questions we usually ask tarot? No, I’m one for trying to read into the card for an answer.

This time, for the first question, I drew The Lord, aka the Emperor. In the Druidcraft Tarot, which I’m currently using, the figure is grave man with a staff and an antlered headdress. I won’t go into the multitude of meanings for the card (especially a Major!), but I interpreted this to be a stern yes. The sort of yes you got when you were 16 and asking your dad if you could drive all of your friends to a late movie, or the yes you get when you ask your boss for permission to take liberties with an assignment. It’s like saying, “Yes, you can do this, but you need to prove to me that you are worthy.”

Okay, maybe I’m being a little facetious, but I think you get the drift.

For the second question, I drew The Hermit, which gave me a little thrill. The opportunity and the capacity to meditate and to grow spiritually is a huge blessing, and one I feel very ready and excited to receive. The accompanying book gives, for this card, the story of the Well of Segais, in which Manannán mac Lir teaches King Cormac that wisdom comes from within as well as without.  If I’m being given the opportunity to learn inner wisdom, I am blessed. And of course, seeing Manannán in the descriptor gave me a little thrill, because all encounters with my patron are a blessing.

So, yes, good omens. Two majors and two very serious positive answers.

But I still ask… what’s the best way to take omens? It must vary from person to person, but how does one find a method and feel confident that it’s working? Any thoughts?

4 thoughts on “Omens and Tarot

  1. I always ask “What wisdom or blessings do you offer?” then draw 1-3 runes, however many feels appropriate. Sometimes it’s 1 per Kindred, others (esp lately) it’s what shows up in my hand.

  2. Pingback: A Response to "Omens and Tarot" | Bishop In The Grove

  3. Pingback: A Response to “Omens and Tarot” | Bishop In The Grove

Leave a Reply

