Making the Mundane Magickal

In Episode 46 of Druidcast, T. Thorn Coyle said something that really stuck with me, namely that (and I’m not quoting here) it troubles her when her students mention going back to their “mundane” lives, that we should all strive to integrate the magickal into the mundane.

Those of you who read this blog regularly know that I’ve struggled with this question before, but I’ve been thinking about it in more practical terms lately. While picking the corpse of our local soon-to-be-closed Borders, I snagged two Llewellyn almanacs (Magical and Witches’ Spell-a-Day), as well as, incidentally, a Llewellyn Tarot kit and a Neil Gaiman novel, and the almanacs feature a number of spells and rituals to integrate your magickal practices and spellwork into your daily life. Ways, for instance, to make your housecleaning into a ritual, or to make healing bath charms. Some of them are a little absurd, sure, but some of them are really thought-provoking.

I’ve been trying to come up with some little rituals of my own, like “lighting” an LED candle in honor of Brighid while I’m writing, thinking and praying to her while I’m cleaning, making little offerings to the gods and goddesses from my meals, pouring acknowledgments to the Outdwellers on my doorstep when I’m reading outside, or thanking Manannán mac Lir for his presence in my life in quiet moments. I’d also like to select a deity to whom I can “offer” my nightly guitar practice. I make offerings to the local river, and it’s hard not to feel awed by the Earth Mother when driving through the Chimayó Badlands.

Do you all have any ways of making the mundane more magickal? How do you practice your faith on a daily basis?

One thought on “Making the Mundane Magickal

  1. It sounds like you’re already doing a great deal to integrate your religious practice and spirituality into your daily life! I love reading your posts. I really do.

    You mention having picked up a Neil Gaiman novel, and I’m hoping that it was “American Gods”. If so, pay a visit to Chapter 4, page 92 (according to my paperback edition). It’s entitled, “Coming to America, 1721”. This is a passage that, I think, addresses the idea of how an ordinary person keeps aware of the mystical and brings it into their everyday life. (I really love his writing…)

    When I light a candle for Brighid, I say, “The fire of Brighid is the flame in my heart”. I repeat it when I extinguish the candle as well. I think it helps to take the thoughts in our head and bring them out through our mouths. The act of speaking these things we think helps to give them life and purpose.

Leave a Reply

