Beginnings and Endings

Happy Solstice, everyone. For some reason I thought the Solstice was Wednesday… I’ve been wrapped up in my own life, neglecting some things that are important and focusing way too much on a few things that are not.

I’ve been thinking a lot about beginnings and endings–and about dualities, or “false dichotomy,” as another writer once accused me of creating in an essay.

I finished writing my first book last night. This is a big deal, but it’s not really an ending–it’s just another beginning. This was the first draft. Now comes a month without looking at it, then more months of reading, rewriting, and editing. I haven’t even ended the creative process of the first draft, because I know I will be scrapping some scenes and writing other, completely fresh scenes.

Still, it’s a change, and we honor change.

What are our quarter holidays? The Solstice is not just the longest day of the year, and it’s not just a celebration of the sun at its pinnacle. No, it’s also a celebration of the moment when the sun starts to slip away, even just slightly. In the shadow of the Midsummer is the darkness of the winter and the promise of another year of change.

The Wheel turns on, I suppose.

So do we really have dichotomy? Are there really beginnings and endings? Not every beginning matches with an ending, and not every ending has a clear beginning. Let’s celebrate the light that shines in between, too.

Leave a Reply

